Sunday, 17 July 2011

New album 'Carousel' and free single

Our new single 'Promises, Promises' is now available as a free download from the following links:
Pocketbooks - Promises, Promises (
Pocketbooks - Promises, Promises (Bandcamp)

It's taken from our second album, 'Carousel', which is available on Odd Box Records. The official release will be in September, but the label is sending out advance copies now. They're available now from the following link: Pocketbooks - Carousel (Odd Box Records)

The album was recorded during the winter of 2010 in Soup Studios under the Duke of Uke ukulele shop in east London’s Brick Lane. It would have been a wintry record anyway, but the snow and the dark nights definitely played their part. The album begins and finishes with a bleak, distant piano, but inbetween there’s a mix of bright harmonies, shimmering guitars and gorgeous strings.

The violins on the album and the single were played by Matthew Walker and Claire Hadidjenar from A Little Orchestra. It was recorded by Simon Trought (The Wave Pictures, Allo Darlin’, Fanfarlo and Darren Hayman). The album artwork was created by Krister Bladh.

We've had some nice reviews of the new single, including:

"An ecstatic, dizzy slice of pop, with beautiful vocals and harmonies from Emma Hall. It's music that makes you want to be young and in love again"
The Metaphorical Boat

"All the qualities of a summer hit!"
Beautiful Sounds

"This is the song that would come on whenever I tune the radio to Radio 2, the song that would make me believe the world is a welcome and lovely place, warm and wonderful, irresistible and happening, the sort of world you open the curtains to and let the sunshine in for."
A Fog Of Ideas

"A lovely popsong, as always from Pocketbooks"

"The main course should be delicious if this sample is anything to go by"

The Zookeeper's Buoy

We hope you enjoy the free single and new album!

Friday, 1 July 2011

Promises, Promises: new single, 18 July 2011

The first single from our forthcoming album will be available as a free download on Monday 18 July.

'Promises, Promises' is a flurry of sweeping violins, girl group harmonies and bittersweet summertime lyrics about casual promises that never materialise. The violins were played by Matthew and Claire from A Little Orchestra, who also play on several other songs on our new album. Have a listen here:

Advance copies of our new album 'Carousel' will also be available to order from Monday 18 July. The album will be officially released by Odd Box Records in September 2011.

We're playing a few shows in July alongside the releases:

14 July 2011 - Apple Eyes single launch
With Apple Eyes and Wolventrix @ The Wilmington Arms, London
(£5, or £3 with this flyer)

27 July 2011 - Spiral Scratch
With Math and Physics Club, Very Truly Yours and The Sweet Nothings @ The Windmill, London

28 July 2011 - A Layer Of Chips
With Math and Physics Club, Very Truly Yours and The Sweet Nothings @ The Chameleon, Nottingham

29-31 July 2011 - Indietracks festival
We're playing at 7pm on the Friday night with Jonny (Norman Blake and Euros Childs!) and Suburban Kids With Biblical Names @ The Midland Railway, Derbyshire

Also, on Friday 15 July: Andy will play a song with A Little Orchestra at a fundraiser for the Duke of Uke. The evening will be headlined by Darren Hayman, and tickets are available here: Duke of Uke 15 July tickets

See you soon!